top of page
Search

Writers block or things that get in your way...

My mother and I loved genealogy and traced our ancestors back to Ireland. We decided to take a trip and see what we could discover. On our first trip almost twenty years ago...We were directed to an old thatched roof cottage by a local priest saying that he believed our family once owned that cottage years ago. There were wild flowers all grown up around the cottage and we couldn't get the door open. I did not want to come this far and not go in so I pushed and prayed and got in the cottage. Once inside I saw a large fireplace and hearth. A kettle still hanging. A loft behind and above the fireplace and two small rooms on either side. The floor was hard packed dirt. thee was a small cupboard and water pump, an old rocker and a large wooden table. I immediately felt a calming feeling and as I left the cottage I told my mother I feel like I know their story and I must write a book. thus started Irish Bones. Family, Life, work, children and even breast cancer got in the way but I was determined and I finally finished my book. On my second trip to Ireland I took my daughters with me.

A sequel is underway. So never give up is my advice. One day you will finish your novel.

5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page